NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL



COUNCIL

Thursday, 21 May 2015

YOU ARE SUMMONED TO ATTEND A MEETING OF NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL, WHICH WILL BE HELD AT THE GUILDHALL NORTHAMPTON ON THURSDAY, 21 MAY 2015 AT 11:00 AM WHEN THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS IS PROPOSED TO BE TRANSACTED

1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

Councillor Larratt to propose and Councillor Lane to second: "That Councillor Penelope Ann Flavell be elected Mayor of the Borough of Northampton Borough Council for the ensuing year".

After election, the Mayor will make the declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mayor's Serjeant will invest in the Mayor's Consort (Mr Michael Flavell) with his chain of office.

The Mayor will thank the Council for her election.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

Councillor Hadland to propose and Councillor Golby to second:

"That the thanks of the Council be given to Councillor John Caswell and Mrs Cheryl Caswell for the able and courteous manner in which they have discharged their duties as Mayor and Mayor's Consort during their time in office".

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor M Hill to propose and Councillor King to second: "That Councillor Christopher Malpas be appointed to the office of Deputy Mayor".

After appointment the Deputy Mayor will make his declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mace Bearer will invest the Deputy Mayoress (Ms Lynne Allen) with her badge of office.

4. APOLOGIES

5. LONG SERVICE

25 years' service:

Nicola Christie, Phillip Sales, Robert Morton, Sue Folwell and Ann Innis-Haycox.

35 years' service:

Paul Tipler and Jeffery Harrison.

6. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE CONSERVATIVE GROUP

Councillor Hadland to announce that Councillor Markham has been appointed Leader of the Conservative Group and that Councillor Hallam has been appointed Deputy Leader of the Conservative Group.

7. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION GROUP

Councillor Russell to announce that Councillor Stone has been appointed Leader of the Labour Group and that Councillor G Eales has been appointed Deputy Leader of the Labour Group.

8. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE LIBERAL DEMOCRAT GROUP

The announcement of the Leader and Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group.

9. LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Hallam to propose and Councillor Patel to second:

"That Councillor Markham be elected Leader of the Council to hold office until the day of the post-election Annual Council Meeting which follows Councillor Markham's election today, unless before this date she resigns from office, she ceases to be a Councillor or she is removed from office by resolution of the Council."

10. DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CABINET

The Leader of the Council to announce her appointment of Deputy Leader and Cabinet Members.

11. COMMITTEE PROPORTIONALITY

(Copy herewith)

12. APPOINTMENT OF POLITICAL ASSISTANTS

(Copy herewith)

13. COUNCIL MEETINGS

The Mayor to propose: "That the Annual Meeting of the Council take place on 19th May 2016 and that other meetings of the Council take place on the 8th June, 20th July, 21st September, 2nd November, 14th December 2015, 25th January, 22nd February, 7th March, 18th April, 6th June and 18th July 2016".

14. MEMBERS ALLOWANCES

(Copy herewith)

15. CALENDAR OF MEETINGS

(Copy herewith)

16. APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES

(Copy herewith)

17. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

(Copy herewith)

18. CONSULTATION APPOINTMENTS

Civic Matters (Chief Executive)

The Mayor, the Deputy Mayor, The Immediate Past Mayor, the Leader, Councillors M Hill and Duffy.

Community Enabling Fund Advisory Panel (Chief Executive):

Councillors Nunn (Chair) and Councillors Parekh, Sargeant, Birch and McCutcheon

Constitution Review Working Party (Borough Solicitor)

Councillors Oldham, Hallam, Culbard, Russell and Beardsworth

Markets Advisory Panel

Councillor Nunn, Hadland and Haque

Northamptonshire Police and Crime Panel

Councillor King (Cllr Eldred – Substitute)

Councillor Stone (Cllr Birch - Substitute)

Discretionary Housing Payments Review Panel (Chief Executive)

Councillor Bottwood and Hibbert

Councillor Ashraf and Davenport

Councillor Beardsworth

The Guildhall Northampton

D. Kennedy Chief Executive

(Questions will not be taken at the Annual Council Meeting or at civic or ceremonial meetings or meetings called to deal with specific items of business.)

(The 'Notices of Motion' item will not be taken at the Annual Council meeting or meetings called for civic or ceremonial purposes.)

Contacts

Democratic Services: e-mail democraticservices@northampton.gov.uk

Tel 01604 837722

Mail Democratic Services
Northampton Borough Council
The Guildhall
St Giles Square
Northampton NN1 1DE